May 17: HMCS Dauphin; Wpg fire department formed; Kapyong Barracks; Citizens Committee of 1000.

May 17, 1941 - The HMCS Dauphin is commissioned at Montreal.

May 17, 1882 - Winnipeg's volunteer fire brigade is replaced with a full-time force. Chief William McRobie, a veteran of the Montréal fire department, presided over a staff of 32.

May 17, 1973 - The PPCLI barracks in Winnipeg are renamed Kapyong Barracks to honour a battle fought in the Korean war in 1951.

May 17 1919 - Concerned about the growing number of workers joining the general strike the Citizens Committee of 1000 is created.

No comments: